Monday, May 21, 2018

Pole for Jagan, Soorya, Jennifer, Ravikumar

Chennai, September 8: Defending champion Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) who is in desperate need of points following a tepid season so far, came up with a blistering lap to qualify for pole position in the premier Super Sport Indian (up to 165cc) class in the fourth and penultimate round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT track, here on Friday.

Jagan, currently fourth in the championship, clocked a best lap of one minute, 07.904 seconds around the 2.1Kms long short loop to top the qualifying session ahead of points leader Rajiv Sethu (Honda Ten10 Racing) whose best was a 01:08.383 while KY Ahamed (TVS Racing) completed the front row clocking 01:08.503 for the first race of the double-header to be run on Saturday.

Soorya PM (01:12.592) led a 1-2 for Honda Ten10 Racing as he grabbed the pole position in the Pro-Stock (up to 165cc) class followed by championship leader Aravind Balakrishnan (01:12.630) with Yashas RL (Rockers Racing, 01:13.257) from Bengaluru being the third fastest.

Moto-Rev India’s Deepak Ravikumar topped the time charts in the Super Sport Indian (300-400cc) class clocking 01:07.472, edging out Apex Racing Academy’s Kishoar VS (01:07.820) while Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing), who heads the leaderboard in this category, qualified third in 01:08.154.

Local challenger Ann Jennifer (RACR) was the quickest in the qualifying session clocking 01:17.549 for Girls (Stock, up to 165cc) ahead of Alisha Abdullah (Team Alisha Abdullah) who timed 01:18.189 while Bengaluru’s Aishwarya Pissay of Apex Racing Academy and who heads the leaderboard was third quickest in 01:18.414.

The two heats in the Novice category (Stock, up to 165cc) produced close racing as Vyshak Shoban (Speed Up Racing) emerged the quickest of the 34 riders clocking an impressive 01:13.802 with championship leader Sri Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing) second best in 01:14.039 and team-mate Peddu Sriharsha third (01:14.415). The trio will take the front row for the point-scoring race on Saturday.

Peddu Sriharsha was soon back on track and won the first of the two races in the Novice category of the TVS One-Make Championship ahead of Anup Kumar and Romario J.

Meanwhile, in the Honda One-Make Championship, Rajiv Sethu (CBR 250, Open) and Aswin Kumar (CBR 150, Novice) took pole positions in their respective categories while Sivanesan S was the quickest in the TVS One-Make Championship (Open).  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *